Info

New York Said

Teacher, sales associate, officer, tobacconist, rebel, MTA worker, artist, drifter - who? These are the people in your neighborhood. Hosted by Amon Focus, the New York Said podcast features in-depth artful conversations with people you don't often hear from, to hear things that aren't often shared (said), spotlighting life in New York. This is what New York Said. New episodes available on Tuesdays.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2018
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: Page 1
Jan 3, 2017

Happy New Year good people, welcome to the New York Said podcast. It’s a very rainy Tuesday in the Lower East Side but I’m feeling it. I love the sunshine because I appreciate the rain.

This episode is a little different. A few days ago I invited Juan back on the show to talk about his favorite podcast, music and books but we ended up talking about that and everything under the sun.

What you’re about to hear is take two. In the first take we started off great and then somehow we ended up in the super dark political place. It didn’t even make sense to publish it, I just made a new clip as we were talking and started from there.

Please enjoy.

 

Juan’s Podcast Picks

Ice T: Final Level - https://soundcloud.com/icetfinallevel/re-air-scarface-is-just-trying-to-ice-t-and-ll-cool-j-the-game

Drink Champs: Episode 9 w/ Too $hort - https://player.fm/series/drink-champs/episode-9-w-too-hort

Men in Blazers: : Bob Bradley Pod Special - https://soundcloud.com/meninblazers/men-in-blazers-122216-bob-bradley-pod-special

Tax Season: The T. Rodgers Episode - https://soundcloud.com/taxseason/the-t-rodgers-episode

GGN Podcast Ep. 69 - Rick Ross - https://soundcloud.com/snoopdogg/ggn-podcast-ep-69-rick-ross

 

Amon’s Podcast Picks

Tax Season: The Black Thought Episode - https://soundcloud.com/taxseason/the-black-thought-episode

Sleep With Me: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/sleepwithmepodcasts-podcast/id740675898

How I Built This: Spanx: Sara Blakely - https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/national-public-radio/how-i-built-this/e/spanx-sara-blakely-46340238

The Tim Ferriss Show: Shep Gordon - http://fourhourworkweek.com/2016/09/07/shep-gordon/

 

 

 
Links to the Stuff they Talked About
 

License to Drive (Movie) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4KJtDxTqWQ

Flat Iron - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flatiron_Building

NYCHOS Sigmund couch - http://thecreatorsproject.vice.com/blog/vienna-therapy-street-artist-nychos

40 Projects - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Jamaica,_Queens

Poconos - https://www.poconomountains.com

The High Line - http://www.thehighline.org

Bushwick Collective - https://www.facebook.com/TheBushwickCollective/

Whitney - http://whitney.org

MoMa - https://www.moma.org

Cyclone, Coney Island - http://lunaparknyc.com/attractions/cyclone/

Janes Carousel - http://janescarousel.com

Brooklyn Bridge Park - http://www.brooklynbridgepark.org

Central Park - http://www.centralparknyc.org

Dinosaur BBQ - http://www.dinosaurbarbque.com

The BBQ Spot (The Smoke Joint) - http://www.bcrestaurantgroup.com/tsj

Duke of Sandwich - http://www.earlofsandwichusa.com

Parkway Bakery Tavern - http://parkwaypoorboys.com

Mother’s - http://www.mothersrestaurant.net

Cochon -  http://cochonrestaurant.com

Cane and Table - http://caneandtablenola.com

Willie Mae's Restaurant - http://www.williemaesnola.com

The Roots - http://www.theroots.com

Rock Box - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GND7sPNwWko

Dave Chappelle's Block Party - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0425598/

Yasin Bey - https://www.facebook.com/yasiinbey/

Jaguar Wright - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaguar_Wright

Dead Prez - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dead_Prez_discography

M-1 - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-1_(rapper)

TMNK - https://www.instagram.com/tmnk/

TMNK Episode - http://www.newyorksaid.com/episode-014-tmnk/

N.O.R.E. Superthug (What What) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoLbgMnVT6E

Too $hort - Gettin' It - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJGGzunxHmE

Groove Theory - Keep Tryin' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhL1lUzmjcs

DMX - Slippin' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ww-TQUeA3E

Premier League - https://www.premierleague.com

Arsenal Magazine - http://www.arsenal.com/home

North London - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_London

Canibus - DJ Clue Freestyle 97 ''I Speak At Frequencies'' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3rPeVvte0U

'97 Mentality - Cappadonna ft Ghostface Killah - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mTauSjGsci8

Ready to Die - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ready_to_Die

The War Report - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_War_Report

Reasonable Doubt - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reasonable_Doubt_(album)

Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike - https://www.amazon.com/Shoe-Dog-Memoir-Creator-Nike/dp/1501135910

Solange - http://www.solangemusic.com/

Beginning Stages - A look into Solange’s songwriting process & jam sessions that shaped ASATT - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqpZYAKJQko

The Score (Fugees album) - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Score_(Fugees_album)

Comfort Crusade - https://www.mixcloud.com/comfortcrusade/

Got to Give the People What They Want by Jalen Rose - https://www.amazon.com/Give-People-What-They-Want/dp/0804138907

Michael Jordan Playground - https://www.amazon.com/Michael-Jordans-Playground-VHS-Jordan/dp/6301920996

Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections On and Off the Court - https://www.amazon.com/Wooden-Lifetime-Observations-Reflections-Court/dp/0809230410

Young Jeezy - https://www.instagram.com/jeezy/?hl=en

Frank Ocean - http://frankocean.tumblr.com

The Weeknd: Starboy - http://theweeknd.co/Starboy

 

This episode is sponsored by Gorilla Coffee.