Info

New York Said

Teacher, sales associate, officer, tobacconist, rebel, MTA worker, artist, drifter - who? These are the people in your neighborhood. Hosted by Amon Focus, the New York Said podcast features in-depth artful conversations with people you don't often hear from, to hear things that aren't often shared (said), spotlighting life in New York. This is what New York Said. New episodes available on Tuesdays.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2018
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: Page 1
Dec 6, 2016

Today’s guest on the show is musician and content creator Willard Hill.

We met up at Ink48, a Kimpton hotel in the heart Hell's Kitchen and talked about growing up in New Orleans, how culture is a gumbo, his process of making music, the music industry, group think, corporate culture, overcoming creative roadblocks, art being a reflection of the times and much much more.

That’s enough intro for one show, please enjoy.

I’m going to close out today’s episode with Will performing his song Future Fresh at The Gumbo NYC.

And I’ll see ya’ll, next Tuesday… Lord Willing.

More About Willard Hill

Official Site - http://www.willardhill.com

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/willardhill/

iTunes - https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/willard-hill/id448858050

YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/WillardHillMusic

 

Links to the Stuff they Talked About

 

Second Line - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_line_(parades)

Cash Money Records - http://www.cashmoney-records.com

No Limit Records - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_Limit_Records

Pen and Pixels - http://penandpixel.com

Master P - Bout It, Bout It II - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZEjKf4gBJw

The Showboys - Drag Rap (Triggaman) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJyo1fjtNw4

DJ Money Fresh - Brown Beats - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bwDZhQyEWhc

UNLV/Bad Ass Yellow Boy - Drag Em Thru The River - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=843Nu5uJ3YM

Ira Glass on Storytelling - https://vimeo.com/24715531

Nick Hakim - I Don't Know - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8wNpiBqn_0

Quincy Jones - http://www.quincyjones.com 

Shoe Dog - https://www.amazon.com/Shoe-Dog-Memoir-Creator-Nike/dp/1501135910

6 Days to Air - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2076781/

How I Built This (Podcast) - http://www.npr.org/series/490248027/how-i-built-this

Isaiah Rashad - https://soundcloud.com/isaiah_rashad

Negotiating with Giants - https://www.amazon.com/Negotiating-Giants-Peter-D-Johnston/dp/0980942101

The Art of War - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Art_of_War

Gotham Market - http://gothamwestmarket.com

Blue Bottle Coffee - https://bluebottlecoffee.com

Cannibal - http://www.cannibalnyc.com

Ample Hills Ice Cream - http://www.amplehills.com

Platinum Sound Studio - http://www.platinumsoundny.com

Wyclef Jean - http://www.wyclef.com

Who Moved My Cheese - http://amzn.to/2g6wcxJ

Marijuana and the Bible - http://amzn.to/2g6BbP5

My Ishmael - http://amzn.to/2h21Azz

Outliers: The Story of Success - http://amzn.to/2ggPxQk

Jimmy McMillan - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_McMillan

Black Dynamite - http://blackdynamite.com

This episode is sponsored by Gorilla Coffee.